About Mary Boukouvalas
Mary is a music photographer and reviewer.

Snap Scene: The Mercy Kills – Prince Bandroom 15th Feb 2019

February 22, 2019 Mary Boukouvalas

Some have described TMK as Dirty Rock, blending elements from bands such as Sonic Youth, The Cramps, Nine Inch Nails, The Cult and Joy Division. THE MERCY KILLS took their name from a line in The Rocky Horror Picture Show. “It was a mercy killing”. 2009 saw this bratty new outfit emerge writing songs, recording and getting as much stage time together as they could inject into their already heart pounding system. […]

Snap Scene: The Production Company Season 2019 19th Feb 2019

February 21, 2019 Mary Boukouvalas

The 2019 line-up was announced from the grounds of Jeanne Pratt’s residence Raheen.

She stated. “The premiere of David Bowie and Enda Walsh’s music theatre masterpiece, Lazarus, will open our season. It’s a great pleasure and an honour for The Production Company to be staging David Bowie’s final masterpiece with an outstanding creative team headed by acclaimed director Michael Kantor.” […]

Snap Scene: Teenage Fanclub – Corner Hotel 12th Feb 2019

February 18, 2019 Mary Boukouvalas

Formed in 1989, Teenage Fanclub are a rare thing: a group who have grown old with their audience, reflecting their changing lives and shifting concerns. When Teenage Fanclub’s crowd looked at the band in 1991, they saw people just like them: boozy, boisterous and rambunctious. When they look at the band now, they still see themselves in them: they’re like the old best friends you see a couple of times a year, and come away from each meeting with your affections revived. […]

Snap Scene: I’m Talking – Secret Show, Memo Music Hall 11th Feb 2019

February 14, 2019 Mary Boukouvalas

In the worst kept secret in Melbourne, I’m Talking played a secret show at Memo Music Hall on Monday 10th February.

On 16 October 2018, the members of I’m Talking announced that they will return to the stage in 2019 as the supporting act for Bryan Ferry’s Australian tour, which will take place between February and April.

The reformed lineup consists of five of the seven original members: Goodge, Hogarth, Charlesworth, Ceberano, and Abeyratne. Ian Cox and Cameron Newman will not return due to personal commitments and will had replacements to take Cox’s saxophone spot and Newman’s drumming duties. They also have not ruled out about whether they’ll record or perform any new material beyond that.

1 2 3 4 5 6 102