Scene News: The Ugly Kings Release “The Devil Comes With A Smile” from new album, Strange, Strange Times, out Aug 13 via Napalm

Band Photo By Joel Adams

Melbourne vintage rockers THE UGLY KINGS will release their highly anticipated new album, entitled Strange, Strange Times, on August 13, 2021 via Napalm Records.

Following 2018’s Darkness Is My Home, which was lauded by the likes of Classic Rock Magazineand Loud Mag upon release, with Strange, Strange Times, the four- piece is poised to turn heads and continues to infuse their foreboding alt-rock with blackened blues and gritty punk edge! THE UGLY KINGS may channel the flavor of groups like Queens Of The Stone Age and Danzig, but their revitalizing infusion of dark energy is evident while preserving razor sharp, daringly introspective control with clever lyricism, addictive riffage, catchy melodies and a heavy power blues flavor.

After THE UGLY KINGS just recently shared a first song, the punk-infused single “Technodrone”, today the band have released a second appetiser taken from Strange, Strange Times! On smoldering blues rock standout “The Devil Comes With A Smile”THE UGLY KINGS flex their musical muscles, taking you on a dusty road trip to the outback with the bitter taste of nicotine and whiskey in your mouth. Once more, the Melbourne powerhouse showcases their ability to distort hard blues rock into dark, unique territories.

Beware of false promises and easy answers,“ says vocalist Russell Clark about the band’s new single. The Devil Comes With A Smile is about powerful people that exploit our weaknesses and manipulate us with their charm; twisting the world in their own image.”

Each song on the band’s new album is about a different state of mind in this strange, strange time. Both lyrically and musically, THE UGLY KINGS have createda captivating and enthralling ride! In a scene in which gimmick-free, angsty, inspired rock n’ roll is becoming increasingly difficult to come by, Strange, Strange Times is a breath of welcomed, yet strange, strange air…

Coming out in LP, CD and Digital formats on August 13, 2021 via Napalm Records,
the album pre orders are available now from

Band Exclusive ‘Mind Decay’ Marble Vinyl Edition is available direct from their Bandcamp Store

Strange, Strange Times Tracklisting:
1. Strange, Strange Times
2. Technodrone
3. Do You Feel Like You’re Paranoid?
4. In The Shadows
5. Last Man Left Alive
6. Lawman
7. Electric Lady (My Kryptonite)
8. The Devil Comes With A Smile
9. Mr. Hyde
10. Another Fucking Day

The Ugly Kings are:
Christos Athanasias – guitar
Nicolas Dumont – bass
Joel Martin – drums
Russell Clark – vocals

Follow The Ugly Kings
Facebook | Instagram | Bandcamp | Label

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.