Scene News: THE THE Announce new single ‘The Beat(en) Generation’ The Comeback Special album, film & book, out October 29

When you combine the right songs with the right musicians and an audience that never forgot, it’s like coming home.” – Pete Paphides
What started as an unforgettable live experience, and one of the band’s first performances after 16 years, now turns into an extraordinary live album, film & book as Matt Johnson’s London-based Cinéola label teams up with Hamburg-based international rock and pop label, earMUSIC for a series of exciting and exclusive releases.

Originally released on ‘Mind Bomb’ in 1989, this THE THE classic now shines in a new light as Matt Johnson and band performed the song to a sold-out Royal Albert Hall nearly 30 years later.

The Beat(en) Generation’ is now available as a single release on all streaming and download services:

To complete The Comeback Special experience, THE THE will also be launching a variety of exquisitely designed and exclusive products, all available in the official album store soon

This includes an exquisitely designed 136-page Art Book, featuring 6 discs, exclusive photos, audio content plus director Tim Pope’s beautifully shot, unobtrusive film of the show.

As another highlight of the new release, THE THE have also launched a variety of new exclusive merch items and bundles on the official album webstore

The Royal Albert Hall concert was the first of a trio of London shows during The Comeback Special tour—the others taking place at Brixton Academy and The Troxy—all of which sold out within minutes of going on sale.

Performing live for the first time in 16 years with a headline appearance at Denmark’s Heartland Festival a few days before the Royal Albert Hall concert, the rejuvenated THE THE, which featured previous members James Eller on bass, DC Collard on keyboards and Earl Harvin on drums and new member Barrie Cadogan on guitar alongside Matt Johnson, would go on to play sold-out shows and make festival headline appearances across the globe throughout 2018.

The track listing of the live performance across all formats is as follows
1. Global Eyes
2. Sweet Bird Of Truth
3. Flesh & Bones
4. Heartland
5. The Beat(en) Generation
6. Armageddon Days (are here again)
7. A Long Hard Lazy Apprenticeship
8. We Can’t Stop What’s Coming
9. Phantom Walls
10. Love Is Stronger Than Death
11. Dogs Of Lust
12. Helpline Operator
13. This Is The Night
14. This Is The Day
15. Soul Catcher
16. Bugle Boy
17. Beyond Love
18. Slow Emotion Replay
19. (Like a) Sun Rising Thru My Garden
20. Infected
21. I’ve Been Waiting For Tomorrow (all of my life)
22. True Happiness (this way lies)
23. Uncertain Smile
24. Lonely Planet

Pre orders available from

“Part comeback, part requiem, all extraordinary” – The Telegraph

“Johnson’s great achievement is to have made a body of work that is completely original, yet flows smoothly into the slipstream of accessible, socially conscious alternative rock.” – The Times

Follow The The