Scene News: PUSCIFER: TOOL Frontman’s Alter Ego, Premiere “Fake Affront” Video & Announce Record Store Day Exclusive 7 Inch!

Premiere Video For “Fake Affront” Video
“Apocalyptical” Limited Edition 7-Inch Available For
Record Store Day’s Black Friday Event
Tool Frontman’s Alter Ego To Release New Album, Existential Reckoning, Out Now via BMG
Photo credit for above: Travis Shinn
Puscifer, who recently released the critically-acclaimed album, Existential Reckoning (Alchemy Recordings/Puscifer Entertainment/BMG), have premiered a video for “Fake Affront”

The clip features performance footage from the band’s recent record-breaking livestream event, “Existential Reckoning: Live at Arcosanti.” The outing, which debuted on October 30 and was available for the following week, found Puscifer in the heart of the Arizona dessert, surrounded by the uniquely “utopian metropolis” that Architectural Digest described as looking like “the sublime set of a big-budget sci-fi movie.”

The “Fake Affront” video arrives as Puscifer have enjoyed their most heralded album to date, with  Existential Reckoning described by Stereogum as “funky” and “darkly playful,” Billboard dubbed it “slinky,” Consequence of Sound saying the collection is “comparable to early ‘80s new wavers, as well as modern acts like Radiohead,” and SPIN said its “infectious enough to make you want to dance the blight away and ponderous enough to make your mind work up a sweat while doing so.”

While the album was released on Oct. 30, due to COVID-19 related manufacturing issues, the physical versions of the 12-song album will arrive on Dec. 11.
A Record Store Day Black Friday exclusive “Apocalyptical” 7-inch featuring “Rocket Man” as a b-side will be released is available via indie retail for the Nov. 27 event.
The release is limited to 2000 copies and available on cloud clear vinyl.

Existential Reckoning is available now

Existential Reckoning track list:
1.    Bread and Circus
2.    Apocalyptical
3.    The Underwhelming
4.    Grey Area 5.1
5.    Theorem
6.    UPGrade
7.    Bullet Train To Iowa
8.    Personal Prometheus
9.    A Singularity
10. Postulous
11. Fake Affront
12. Bedlamite 


Born somewhere in the Arizona desert, Puscifer is an electro-rock band, multimedia experience, traveling circus, and alien abduction survivors. The group’s catalog consists of three full-length studio albums—“V” is for Vagina [2007], Conditions of My Parole [2011], and Money Shot [2015]—in addition to a series of EPs and remixes. Beyond the core trio of Maynard James Keenan [vocals], Mat Mitchell [guitar, production], and Carina Round [vocals, songwriting], the group’s ever-evolving ecosystem encompasses a cast of characters such as Billy D and his wife Hildy Berger, Major Douche, Special Agent Dick Merkin, and many more.

Meanwhile, the moniker’s origins can be traced to a 1995 episode of the HBO classic Mr. Show where Keenan first utilized the name “Puscifer. Entertainment Weekly christened them, “Exceptionally groovy, and Revolver fittingly described them as “indescribable.” Renowned for an immersive live show, the group’s performances blur the lines between concert and theater, traversing the dusty American Southwest with Billy D and Hildy or the sweaty squared circle with Luchadores. They’ve brought this to life everywhere from Coachella to Bonnaroo. On their 2020 debut for Alchemy Recordings/BMG, entitled Existential Reckoning, Puscifer track Billy D back to the desert and, just maybe, uncover the truth about aliens once and for all.

# # #

Further transmissions:

Puscifer – Fake Affront – Live At Arcosanti

Above: Existential Reckoning cover