Scene News: PASSENGER shares his love for the planet and his new release, A Song for the Drunk and Broken Hearted.


Passenger Invites Fans to Tune-In to a Special Evening from the Iconic Royal Albert Hall London on January 10, 2021

Partners with Ecologi and the Eden Project to plant one tree for every physical product sold.

Mike Rosenberg, better known as Passenger, announces his new studio album Songs for the Drunk and Broken Hearted will be released on January 8, 2021, and today he shares the track that inspired the album’s title, “A Song for the Drunk and Broken Hearted,” along with an accompanying video. He’s also happy to announce that all physical packaging of CDs and Vinyl will be made of 100% recycled material, and one tree will be planted for every physical piece sold via the Passenger webstore thanks to a partnership with Ecologi and the Eden Project. Songs for the Drunk and Broken Hearted is available to pre-order HERE.

Passenger’s proposed year of busking, festivals and headline shows is postponed until 2021*. With an authentic and engaging live show that has won over scores of fans and critics around the globe and allowed him to headline some of the world’s most famous stages, he looks forward to returning to the road as soon as it’s safe for everyone. Until then, Rosenberg invites fans to an intimate evening at London’s famed Royal Albert Hall for an exclusive performance film that will be broadcast on January 10, 2021 to celebrate the album’s release. Everyone who pre-orders the album receives priority access to the event.

The majority of Songs for the Drunk and Broken Hearted was written when Rosenberg was newly single. “Coming out of a break-up creates such a fragile window,” he reflects. “You’re incredibly vulnerable for a few months. You’re so used to the safety of being with somebody and suddenly you’re out in the world on your own. And you get pissed and probably make some bad decisions. In some ways, you make it worse for yourself. But it’s a heady moment, losing love and being drunk. And it’s universal. Everyone goes through it at some stage.”

The accompanying music video sees Passenger and his bandmates dressed as downhearted clowns playing to a room of the drunk and broken-hearted. “This video was so much fun to make,” Rosenberg says. “I’m a huge fan of ‘The Joker,’ and as the lyrics in the chorus of the song mention ‘jokers and ‘jesters,’ it felt like the perfect opportunity to dress up like a clown and freak everyone out. The idea of setting it in a really grim and depressing bar room environment really helps bring out the story within the song.”

Watch / Listen + Share “A Song for the Drunk and Broken Hearted” HERE

Hailing from Brighton, England, Passenger is a multi-award winning, platinum-selling singer-songwriter. Busking can be attributed to Passenger’s success, in particular in Australia, where he performed on the streets of Brisbane to Perth and everywhere in between. Establishing a strong and loyal following in Australia, he made the journey from street corners to stadiums, thanks in part to supporting his good mate Ed Sheeran, and most notably with “Let Her Go,” which reached number 1 in 19 countries, was certified 7x Platinum in Australia and is now approaching three billion plays on YouTube.

Yet ‘Let Her Go’ is just one song from a remarkable and prolific back catalogue, including 2016’s Young as the Morning, Old as the Sea, which topped the charts in Australia, New Zealand and the UK. The consistency of his output, coupled with his authenticity both on and off stage, has won Passenger a dedicated fan base around the globe.

* As with all global touring events at present, we are assessing on a daily basis the various issues in each country. As soon as any changes or updates are made, we will be notifying all ticket buyers with as much notice as possible. Please sign up to the mailing list for the most up to date information.



Pre-order / Pre-save / Pre-add here

Track Listing:

1. Sword from the Stone

2. Tip of My Tongue

3. What You’re Waiting For

4. The Way That I Love You

5. Remember to Forget

6. Sandstorm

7. A Song for the Drunk and Broken Hearted

8. Suzanne

9. Nothing Aches Like a Broken Heart

10. London in the Spring

11. London in the Spring (Acoustic)

12. Nothing Aches Like A Broken Heart (Acoustic)

13. Suzanne (Acoustic)

14. A Song for the Drunk and Broken Hearted (Acoustic)

15. Sandstorm (Acoustic)

16. Remember to Forget (Acoustic)

17. The Way That I Love You (Acoustic)

18. What You’re Waiting For (Acoustic)

19. Tip of My Tongue (Acoustic)

20. Sword from the Stone (Acoustic)



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.