Scene News: Media Announcement – Key Out Announce “Stray“ Single & Share Video

“Stray”, the second single from Key Out’s forthcoming album “Anthropomorphia” is available Friday 29th May on all digital platforms via Half A Cow Records. 

Stray is a change of pace – a wash of attacking guitar, unexpected cross-cutting drums and a contemplation of suburban life, anchored by an insistent post-punk bassline. It finds a place on the sonic spectrum between My Bloody Valentine and Shellac, was recorded by the band and mixed and mastered by Wayne Connolly (Amy Shark, Matt Corby).

The video is a study of small details, finding interest in minutiae.

“An exceptional wall of sound that would easily fit in the discographies of either Kev Shields or Steve Albini, the Wayne Connolly-mixed track sees the trio dishing out a mesmerising mix of post-punk instrumentation, wrapped up in a slick two-and-a-half minute package that truly commands your attention.” Tone Deaf on “Stray”

Key Out will release their second album, Anthropomorphia, on Half A Cow Records, on Friday 26 June 2020.

Anthropomorhia is a bedroom recording featuring acoustic guitars and ageing synthesizers, toy percussion and drums, sequencers and vocal harmonies. It has the intimacy of a home recording, but the polish of Wayne Connolly’s mixing and mastering (Amy Shark, Matt Corby).

The home ‘studio’ gave the band the freedom to chop, edit and rearrange original demos and the songs changed. Electronics were swapped out for acoustics, and analog drums for sequencers. Rock songs became electroish-post punk (Chorus), filtered summery pop (Buildings) and close mic’d folk (Dog).

The first single Chorus was playlisted on Double J, made 2SERs best new music list, and was played across Austereo (Rebel Rock FM Qld), ABC Darwin and  community radio across Australia. Doubtful Sounds called Chorus “dark, melancholic and moody synth-rock… bringing to mind acts such as Underground Lovers, Ride and New Order”.  

The album’s ten tracks clock in at just over 20 minutes. The longer tracks on Anthropomorphia would have been short on 2019’s What (Do) You See. “We’ve always liked the complete sounding two-minute pop songs of Joyce Manor or Sneeze or The Magnetic Fields or Guided by Voices, but they weren’t our template” says Paddy Haid (ex-Sarah Blasko, Ides of Space)  “we just built songs around the important parts, and let them run their course”.

The album will be available on limited edition marbled vinyl and via digital platforms through Half A Cow. 

The band is looking forward to playing songs from the album live in a reopened world or via digital channels in the near future.

Key Out is Paddy Haid, Rohan Geddes and Caroline Wake.

“That bassline, those synths, the sharpness of the guitars, the vocal delivery; if you’re a fan of post-punk and atmospheric indie rock, you’ll love this new single from Sydney’s Key Out.” Double J

“Anthropomorphia” Tracklist:
01.  Buildings
02.  Chorus
03.  Stray
04.  Dog
05.  Fire
06.  Bird
07.  True
08.  Moonlight
09.  Echolocation
10.  Edge

Facebook | Instagram | Bandcamp

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.