Scene News: Lucinda Williams reimagines her 92′ classic Sweet Old World with 25th Anniversary re-recording

Three-time Grammy Award winner Lucinda Williams will release This Sweet Old World (Highway 20/ThirtyTigers), a re-recording of her beloved 1992 album Sweet Old World to celebrate the 25^th anniversary of its release.

Produced by Williams and Tom Overby, This Sweet Old World features fresh updated interpretations of songs such as Prove My Love, Sidewalks of the City, Memphis Pearl and Lines Around Your Eyes. With her deeply soulful voice and wisdom gained over the last 25 years, Williams breathes new life into classics Pineola, Sweet Old World, Something About What Happens When We Talk, Little Angel, Little Brother and Nick Drake’s Which Will.


The third track on the 1992’s This Sweet Old World, He Never Got Enough Love is transformed with additional verses, new sound and new title, Drivin’ Down A Dead End Street, which was the song’s original title. Williams changed it upon the realization that Bob Dylan had a current album with a similar name.

The arrangements on This Sweet Old World are tighter and rawer than the original and feature Williams’ fantastic touring/studio band: guitarist Stuart Mathis, bassist David Sutton, and drummer Butch Norton. Guitarist Greg Leisz, who actually participated in the early sessions for the 1992 album, adds his masterful playing to the new recordings. If re-recording an entire studio album was not already an unprecedented move, Williams and company chose to re-record the four tracks that were not included on the original release. This Sweet Old World features new versions of Factory Blues Dark Side of Life, John Anderson’s Wild and Blue and the John Leventhal/Jim Lauderdale penned What You Don’t Know.

Listen to Sidewalks Of The City here:

While Sweet Old World remains a favorite of many Lucinda Williams fans, the album came out in between two of her landmark recordings (1988’s highly-influential Lucinda Williams and 1998’s masterpiece Car Wheels On a Gravel Road) and was not as revered over time. The years have proven that the songs are as strong as any she has written, but Williams felt the need to revisit the recording. “Everything’s different now. It’s a different band, it’s a different studio, my voice is different,” says Williams. “It’s like a new album.”


01. Six Blocks Away
02. Prove My Love
03. Something About What Happens When We Talk
04. Memphis Pearl
05. Sidewalks Of The City
06. Sweet Old World
07. Little Angel Brother
08. Pineola
09. Lines Around Your Eyes
10. Drivin Down A Dead End Street
11. Hot Blood
12. Which Will
13. Factory Blues
14. What You Don’t Know
15. Wild and Blue
16. Dark Side Of Life

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.