Scene News: Introducing Self Esteem


“Rebecca Taylor spent the last decade as one half of Slow Club, one of the country’s most hopelessly endearing bands… Self Esteem promises something different, a statement of independence that grants her fresh routes toward expression.” – CLASH

Self Esteem is Rebecca Lucy Taylor, and a project which began with painting and prints and video alongside her day job writing and performing as one half of Slow Club. Since her musical divergence from the band, Rebecca has revelled in unleashing a whole version of herself with no compromises, no reducing herself, no hesitating. She would go on to write the songs that had been rising up inside her all through the years — big songs, that spoke of love and sex and chaos, that brought in huge basslines, gospel choirs, the kind of polished, provocative production she admired on the biggest pop records.

New single ‘The Best’ is partnered by news of Self Esteem’s debut album Compliments Please, due for release via Fiction Records / Caroline Australia on March 1st 2019.


“I am overwhelmingly proud to have finally made the record that’s been sitting in my guts since I was a child,” Rebecca says.

“It has been challenging and incredibly frightening but so much more satisfying because of this. I wanted to make pop music for my fellow flawed, squashed and disgusting humans having a go at life. I feel I’ve succeeded. And if I haven’t, I’m hoping to make a fair few more.”

Compliments Please saw Rebecca working with songwriter and producer Johan Karlberg, seeking him out because she loved his band, The Very Best, as well as his approach to production: “He loves the fattest beat possible, and he loves to fuck with them, to find what would make it weirder, or that would make it dirtier — that’s second nature to him, and it is to me too,” she explains.

‘The Best’ joins singles ‘Rollout’ and ‘Wrestling’, serving an early taste of what to expect from the record. New music follows Self Esteem’s acclaimed debut single of 2017 ‘Your Wife’, produced by Django Django’s Dave Mclean, followed by Django Django collab ‘Surface To Air’ in 2018.

Debut album Compliments Please is available to pre-order now, with digital pre-orders receiving instant downloads of ‘The Best’, ‘Rollout’ and ‘Wrestling’.




Album Tracklist:

1. (Feelings)

2. The Best

3. Steady I Stand

4. Girl Crush

5. Favourite Problem

6. (Hobbies)

7. I’m Shy

8. Peach You Had To Pick

9. In Time

10. Monster

11. Actors

12. Wrestling

13. (Truly Free)

14. She Reigns

15. Rollout

16. On The Edge of Another One



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.