Scene News: Grace Vanderwaal Releases Debut Album Just The Beginning

Singer/songwriter Grace VanderWaal has officially released her debut album JUST THE BEGINNING. The album features her infectious single ‘Moonlight,’ beat-driven track ‘Sick of Being Told,’ uplifting song ‘So Much More Than This’ and the fast-paced ‘Escape My Mind,’ among others. Upon release, JUST THE BEGINNING landed itself into the iTunes Top 10 Albums Chart, a deserving feat for the young musician, and an admirable recognition for her early career.

In addition to writing all the songs on the album, Grace also worked with multiple award winning producers and writers Ido Zmishlany (Shawn Mendes, Camila Cabello), Kinetics & One Love (Hailee Steinfeld), Greg Wells (Katy Perry, Adele), Gregg Wattenberg (Train, Phillips Phillips) and Sean Douglas (The Chainsmokers, Demi Lovato). See full track list below.

JUST THE BEGINNING is the official follow up to Grace’s debut EP PERFECTLY IMPERFECT, which was the U.S.’ best-selling EP of 2016. The album launch also celebrates the incredible year Grace has had following her win on the 11th season of America’s Got Talent. Grace won the Radio Disney Music Award for The Freshest – Best New Artist and the Teen Choice Award for Choice Next Big Thing, was tapped for Variety’s Youth Impact Report and Billboard’s 21 Under 21 for the second time, while also signing a modelling deal with IMG Models Worldwide. She has also seen wide critical praise, with The New York Times calling her “a pop natural,” USA Today naming her a “songwriting phenom,” and Billboard praising her “restrained yet affecting vocal delivery beyond her years.”

Fender Musical Instruments Corporation just announced the launch of Grace’s very own Signature Ukulele series – available Autumn 2018. Fender’s popular artist signature models are geared toward product progression and storytelling, creating instruments designed to the unique specifications of the world’s most iconic artists. At 13-years-old, Grace makes history as not only the youngest Fender(r) Signature Series artist ever, but the brands first collaboration with a Ukulele player. The songstress has recently been seen on her media tour and making her big-stage debut at Austin City Limits with the Venice and Zuma models from Fender’s current California Coast Series Ukuleles. Check out Grace’s advice to beginning Ukulele players here.

The young star is set to embark on her sold-out U.S. headlining tour this November. The JUST THE BEGINNING TOUR kicks off in Los Angeles on November 5 and will make stops in major cities across the U.S. including Chicago, Boston and New York City.



1. ‘Moonlight’

2. ‘Sick of Being Told’

3. ‘Burned’

4. ‘Just A Crush’

5. ‘So Much More than This’

6. ‘Escape My Mind’

7. ‘Talk Good’

8. ‘Florets’

9. ‘Insane Sometimes’

10. ‘A Better Life’

11. ‘City Song’

12. ‘Darkness Keeps Chasing Me’


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.