Scene News: Entries are now open for the 2017 Josh Pyke Partnership

Josh Pyke, in conjunction with APRA AMCOS, is bringing back the Josh Pyke Partnership for 2017, awarding a lucky Australian musician with a $7500 grant to kick-start their music career!

In addition to the financial reward, the winning artist will receive mentorship from Josh Pyke himself and a meeting with Gregg Donovan (Wonderlick Entertainment) and Stephen Wade (Select Music).

The partnership will allow the winning artist to establish and execute a business plan, which will support the progression of their music career.  “I’m very excited to be announcing the JP Partnership, in collaboration with APRA AMCOS again for 2017,” says Pyke. “This will be its fourth year, and I’m really looking forward to seeing what amazing talent we can add to the excellent list of recipients so far! Thanks as always to APRA AMCOS for their support. I’m looking forward to digging in!”

Last year’s winner, Alex Lahey, has gone from strength to strength since receiving the award. The Melbourne based singer/songwriter scored a coveted spot at Splendour in the Grass, released her debut EP and toured the country. Alex now has her sights set on the world, and will hit the UK and US in February and March, including shows at SXSW.

“Winning the Josh Pyke Partnership last year meant so much to me,” she says. “It made getting a foot in the door of the national touring circuit financially viable and allowed me to get advice from some of the Australian industry’s leading figures, including Josh himself. To have been given support for my career in its early stages from one of Australia’s most successful musicians was an extremely encouraging gesture and I am so grateful to have forged a relationship with Josh that will see me seek his advice and expertise well into the future. Thank you Josh!”

To enter, applicants must not be signed to a recording or publishing company and must submit a business plan outlining how they would use the $7500 grant.

Entries are now open and will close at 5PM AEDT on March 31, 2017 with the winner being announced 5 June 2017.

For more information on how to enter, head to