Scene News: Deep Purple: Premiere Official Video For The Surprising

Deep Purple are setting sails into new waters with their first ever animated video.

The official video for “The Surprising”, one of the fan favourites from the international success “inFinite”, takes the viewer on a journey through the magical fifty year history of the band.
With high attention to detail, the animated masterpiece follows the five heroes of our story – Ian Gillan, Ian Paice, Roger Glover, Don Airey and Steve Morse – through a stormy ship cruise full of allusions and sees them riding off into the sunset.

The video for “The Surprising” can be watched on earMUSIC’s official YouTube channel:

The video has been directed and illustrated by Matt Rooke alongside director Peter Rogers who also produced the video together with Craig Hooper and Collin Games, known from the Deep Purple movie documentary “From Here To inFinite”.

Coinciding with the video premiere, Deep Purple and earMUSIC are happy to announce and celebrate the worldwide chart success of the band’s recent #1 album “inFinite” by releasing a very special, strictly limited gold edition on November 3rd. Being released in a high quality 2CD digipak with brand new artwork, the gold edition will feature all of the great masterpieces from “inFinite” while also including a brand new, previously unreleased 80min live show from the biggest metal festival in France, Hellfest 2017, as bonus. Thousands of fans assembled to witness this very rocking, very real performance which will also be available as “The inFinite Live Recordings, Pt. 1” on 3-vinyl and has also been produced by Bob Ezrin.

Every fan’s needs will be fulfilled with the release of the 97-minute documentary “From Here To inFinite”, which shows the history of origin of “inFinite” and provides a deep insight into the workings of the band – for the first time on Blu-ray! The Blu-ray furthermore includes over 2 hours of bonus material, including music videos such as “The Surprising”, 3 previously unreleased live videos (“Time For Bedlam”, “Birds Of Prey” and “Smoke On The Water”), all filmed and recorded at Hellfest 2017, as well as in-depth behind the scenes footage, movie documentary outtakes, interviews and an audio commentary by Deep Purple themselves – all previously unreleased.

CD1 – “inFinite”- The studio album
1. Time For Bedlam
2. Hip Boots
3. All I Got Is You
4. One Night In Vegas
5. Get Me Outta Here
6. The Surprising
7. Johnny’s Band
8. On Top Of The World
9. Birds Of Prey
10. Roadhouse Blues

CD2 – Live At Hellfest 2017
1. Time For Bedlam
2. Fireball
3. Bloodsucker
4. Strange Kind Of Woman
5. Uncommon Man
6. The Surprising
7. Lazy
8. Birds Of Prey
9. Perfect Strangers
10. Space Truckin’
11. Smoke On The Water
12. Hush
13. Black Night

► The Movie – From Here To inFinite (97 min)

Bonus (132 min)
► Audio commentary by Deep Purple
► Live At Hellfest 2017
1. Time For Bedlam
2. Birds Of Prey
3. Smoke On The Water

► Outtakes From “Here To inFinite“
1. Full Interview with Joe Satriani
2. Corky – The Recording Engineer

► Official Music Videos
1. The Surprising
2. Johnny’s Band
3. Johnny’s Band Documentary
4. All I Got Is You

► About inFinite – Interviews
1. About the Album
2. Beyond the Album
3. Track by track
4. Rapid Fire interview
5. Behind The Scenes photoshoot


Side A
1. Time For Bedlam
2. Fireball
3. Bloodsucker

Side B
1. Strange Kind Of Woman
2. Uncommon Man

Side C
1. The Surprising
2. Lazy

Side D
1. Birds Of Prey
2. Hell To Pay
3. Key Solo

Side E
1. Perfect Strangers
2. Space Truckin’
3. Smoke On The Water

Side F
1. Hush
2. Black Night


InFinite is out now!
CD/DVD – Digipak:
2LP/DVD – Gatefold

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.