Scene News: The Darkness release video for new song ‘Southern Trains’

“Who else would have the temerity to write a track about major commuting delays?” – Planet Rock

“An expletive-laden blast of rant-rock which will resonate with frustrated commuters everywhere’ – Q Magazine

“Focuses its anger on the crumbling transport infrastructure of this once-great nation… with a lyric that lambasts the widely-loathed, strife-torn rail franchise. ‘It’s a journey into pure despair/There are fucking arseholes everywhere!’ Hawkins trills winningly.” – Classic Rock

The Darkness have released a brand new song, entitled Southern Trains. Delivering rip-roaring riffs that soar much faster than the lamented train service, England’s most distinctive, multiple award-winning, platinum-selling rock gods have once again created an important anthem for the nation, replete with spirited invective (a.k.a lots of swearing).

Regarding the track Justin Hawkins says, “This song has genuine realness in it, innit. Dan and I had to endure the Southern Trains “services” during the making of this album. The only difference between a normal day on Southern Trains and a day when they’re all on strike, is that on strike day the ArseClownery is deliberate. They are utterly incapable of running a reliable service. Fact. The rest of the world is laughing at us. I hope this song goes some way towards facilitating change…”

As some of the more printable lyrics relate:

“Major delays, cancellations, tedious conversations / Trying to eat your dinner
With an arse in your face, It’s a disgrace…
…Heaving carriages of indignation / Grown men weeping in pure frustration
Totally packed and always late”

The wildly entertaining video finds the band passing time on their terrible, severely delayed train journeys by creating ludicrously fun SnapChat videos.

Watch the video for Southern Trains here:

Southern Trains follows the release of both lead single All The Pretty Girls and the expletive-drenched insight on the music industry, Solid Gold, both of which feature on the forthcoming album Pinewood Smile, out on October 6^th.

Pinewood Smile finds The Darkness on electrifying form, delivering some of the most sharp-witted, infectious and downright brilliant songs of their career, and is being greeted with rave reviews, including 4 stars in the brand new issues of Q, Planet Rock and Mojo magazines.

Justin Hawkins – vocals & guitar / Dan Hawkins – guitar
Frankie Poullain – bass / Rufus Tiger Taylor – drums

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.