Scene News: Classic meets contemporary at the MSO

Classic meets contemporary in the diverse program for the upcoming Beethoven’s Symphony No.7 concert which will feature more than just music by the well-known composer.

karen-gomyo The concert will start with the Australian premiere of a work by one of the world’s most sought-after composers and one of the Orchestra’s favourite artists, Matthias Pintscher.

“The new work, titled idyll, is about the sense of longing associated with fading away and the need for a feeling of lightness. I’m delighted to be premiering this work to Melbourne audiences alongside the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, in a city that is very close to my heart,” said Mr Pintscher.

Pintscher’s compositions are noted for their delicate sounds, the intricacy of their construction and expressions, and idyll promises to be no exception.

The contemporary work, written in 2014, is an MSO co-commission with The Cleveland Orchestra and the Bavarian Radio Symphony.

From modern music to Saint Saëns’ Violin Concerto No.3, the concert also marks the MSO debut of Japanese-Canadian violinist Karen Gomyo who will perform the popular work written in 1880 on her Aurora, ex-Foulis Stradivarius violin handcrafted in 1703.

“I’m thrilled to be performing such an iconic concerto for my first performance with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra. I can’t wait to visit Melbourne and explore the city and the extraordinary music scene on offer,” said Ms Gomyo.

The concert will conclude with Beethoven’s majestic Seventh Symphony, which was called ‘The Apotheosis of Dance’ by Richard Wagner. The whole symphony is based on rhythmical figures that have a dance-like quality. It has been described as one of Beethoven’s most successful concerts.


Beethoven’s Symphony No.7

Date Friday 22 May at 8pm, Saturday 23 May at 2pm, and Monday 25 May at 6.30pm

Venue Hamer Hall, Arts Centre Melbourne

Tickets: $25-$149* prices subject to change

Bookings: or (03) 9929 9600

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.