Scene News: The Church share new video for I Don’t Know How I Don’t Know Why

The Church share trippy live video for ‘I Don’t Know How I Don’t Know Why’, the third single from their acclaimed 26th album Man Woman Life Death Infinity, out now. Premiering via Tone Deaf, the video is spliced live footage utilising sharp editing to evoke a mind warping experience. A psychedelic dip into the complex consciousness of lead singer Steve Kilbey, the video highlights the latest single’s shimmery tones and experiential ambivalence on life’s purpose. With a video that transports the viewer to a rainbow coloured utopia, ‘I Don’t Know How I Don’t Know Why’ stands true to the church’s signature exploration of existence.

Flowing through with the inherent theme of water, their latest single exemplifies Kilbey’s explanation of the mind’s uncontrollable influence. “I’ve always marveled at the sea and rivers and rain…The way I write lyrics is very stream-of-consciousness. I never question them until we perform live” Steve says. Producing ten songs spanning 45 minutes of pure sonic bliss, their latest record Man Woman Life Death Infinity came in strong at #1 on the 100% Australian Independent Record Labels Association independent albums chart.

Filmed on their recent USA tour and edited by Eden Mullholland, the music video offers fans a taste of what to expect on tour. No strangers to the live stage, following a sold out run of Australian shows in 2015 and having previously pulled a 20,000 strong crowd at Primavera Sound, the church embark on a killer eight date national tour, tomorrow – barely touched down from 29 cities across the USA. Joined onstage by special guest, former Remy Zero (UK) guitarist Jeffrey Cain on keys, additional guitars and vocals, the tour will blend almost 50 years of classics with a burst of new songs off their latest record. The band’s Newcastle shows are nearly sold out with the church’s Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne shows set to sell out in the next week. With under 50 tickets left for each show, fans are encouraged to move quick if they want to see this seminal Australian outfit for their first local dates in two years.

Man Woman Life Death Infinity vinyl is available here. (

the church



1. Another Century
2. Submarine
3. For King Knife
4. Undersea
5. Before the Deluge
6. I Don’t Know How I Don’t Know Why
7. A Face In A Film
8. In Your Fog
9. Something Out There Is Wrong
10. Dark Waltz
PRAISE FOR the church

“There is nothing, or not much, that is obvious and instant about the church. Songs that at first pass you by flare into life once you’ve paid them proper respect and attention…no doubt why people care so deeply about them.”

“…among the longest-lived, most prolific bands of the last three decades…”

“Arguably one of the greatest Australian bands of all time.”
Tone Deaf

“It’s astounding that the church can sound so relevant this far into their career.”
Double J

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.