Scene News: 2017 APRA Music Awards’ Ted Albert Recipient, Performers and Presenters Announcement


APRA AMCOS are proud to announce legendary songwriter, storyteller and activist, Archie Roach, as the recipient of the 2017 Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

The prestigious award will be presented to Archie at the 2017 APRA Music Awards on Monday 3 April at the International Convention Centre Grand Ballroom in Sydney.

Archie Roach writes songs from his soul, in the true sense of the word. One of Australia’s most respected, beloved and admired artists, Archie first came to national attention with the release of his debut album Charcoal Lane in 1990. The album launched his career, with the award winning song Took The Children Away telling the heartbreaking story of the Stolen Generations and his own experience of being forcibly removed from his family.

Since then, Archie has released 10 albums, including several with life partner Ruby Hunter. His work has been recognised locally and internationally, and he’s won five ARIA Awards, seven Deadlys, three National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMA) and was inducted into the NIMA Hall of Fame in 2013.  Archie was also the first songwriter to receive a Human Rights Achievement Award (for Took The Children Away in 1992), and has toured with some of the world’s most iconic artists, including Bob Dylan, Billy Bragg, Paul Simon, Joan Armatrading, Suzanne Vega, Patti Smith and the late Leonard Cohen.

Despite the loss of his musical soulmate Ruby Hunter in 2010 and major health problems, Archie Roach continues to record and perform, taking strength and inspiration from his music. He tells the stories of his people – and all people – through powerful music that inspires, uplifts and unites.

Previous recipients of the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music include Paul Kelly, Jimmy Little, Slim Dusty, The Seekers, Fifa Riccobono, Lindy Morrison and 2016 recipients, Cold Chisel.

Playlists featuring some of Archie’s best known songs are available on Spotifyand Apple Music.

The star performers at the 2017 APRA Music Awards include Paul Kelly with A.B. Original & Dan Sultan, Kate Miller-Heidke, Tkay Maidza, Holy Holy, Julia Jacklin, Cloves and Busby Marou.

They join a celebrated list of presenters announced today including Bernard Fanning, Hayley Mary (The Jezabels), Tex Perkins, Morgan Evans andStan Grant.

APRA AMCOS is also pleased to announce the winner of the International Work of the Year category ahead of the APRA Music Awards. From a field that included songs from Justin Timberlake, Justin Bieber and Duke Dumont, Adele’s global smash hit, Hello has taken out the Award.

Licensee of the Year is a newly created award designed to reward licensee groups for good music citizenship. APRA AMCOS is pleased to announce Adelaide live music institution, The Gov, also known as The Governor Hindmarsh Hotel, is the inaugural winner. The venue, run by the Tonkin family, has been named Licensee of the Year for its commitment to supporting local artists and the broader music community.

will be posting from the red carpet and ceremony on the night. Follow @apraamcos and #APRAs on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all the action.

The 2017 APRA Music Awards will be filmed by our broadcast partner MAXon Foxtel and transmitted exclusively on MAX in the days following the awards – featuring exclusive interviews from the red carpet and backstage interviews with the Song of the Year performers. These unique nomination performances for the night’s most prestigious prize are not to be missed! MAX is available, as ever, on Foxtel.

The host of the 2017 APRA Music Awards will be writer, comedian and RocKwiz host, Julia Zemiro. Returning as Musical Director is Robert Conleywho will curate the evening’s live performances.

Visit to see all the nominees in the 2017 APRA Music Awards.

Song of the Year nominee videos can be viewed here.

Information on the voting and judging criteria for the APRA Music Awards can be found at

2017 APRA Music Awards
Monday, 3 April 2017
International Convention Centre Ballroom | Sydney

Tag us on Twitter and Instagram – @APRAAMCOS
Hashtag – #APRAs

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.