Scene News: 2016 APRA Music Award Winners Announced

Courtney Barnett wins Songwriter of the Year

Inaugural Overseas Recognition Award presented to Phil Barton

Winners include Peking Duk, Kevin Parker, Alex Hope, Lee Kernaghan,
Birds of Tokyo, Hilltop Hoods, Jarryd James and more
The 2016 APRA Music Awards were held tonight at Carriageworks in Sydney culminating in the APRA AMCOS Board of Publisher and Writer Directors naming singer/songwriter Courtney Barnett as the 2016 Songwriter of the Year.

2015 was a phenomenal year for Courtney Barnett whose debut album, Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit, was released to rave reviews in Australia and overseas. She received a Grammy Award nomination for Best New Artist and four ARIA Awards from eight nominations.

The prestigious Song of the Year award was bestowed on Let It Happen by Tame Impala and written by Kevin Parker. The band has also had an exceptional year, winning International Group at the 2016 BRIT Awards; five ARIA Awards for their third studio album, Currents; and receiving a Grammy Award nomination in the Best Alternative Album category.

This year’s Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year is Alex Hope. At just 22 years of age, Alex already has an impressive list of credits to her name. She has written and produced ARIA #1 and platinum selling singles and albums, and worked with local and international artists, songwriters and producers including Troye Sivan, Broods, Jessie Ware, Tove Lo, Joel Little, Jack Antonoff, Astrid S, Ryn Weaver, Tina Arena, Guy Sebastian, Jessica Mauboy, Taylor Henderson and Tuka.

The 2016 APRA Music Awards saw the introduction of the Overseas Recognition Award which was given to Phil Barton. During his career, Phil has had over 800 songs recorded on country, children’s and pop records around the world. He has written for country music superstars Lee Brice, Sara Evans, David Nail, Dustin Lynch, Cassadee Pope, Jana Kramer, Mickey Guyton, Kristian Bush and Tate Stevens as well as Jai Waetford, Busby Marou, Amber Lawrence, Baylou and The McClymonts.

Peking Duk (band members Adam Hyde and Reuben Styles with Styalz Fuego and Ben Woolner), received two APRA Music Awards for their radio smash and dancefloor gem Take Me Over (featuring Safia) which took out Dance Work of the Year and Most Played Australian Work.

Co-writers Thomas Busby, Lindsay Rimes and this year’s Overseas Recognition Award winner Phil Barton won the Blues & Roots Work of the Year category for Days of Gold by Busby Marou.

The Country Work of the Year award was taken out by Australian country music legends, Lee Kernaghan, Colin Buchanan and Garth Porter for Spirit of the ANZACs. This brings the trio’s total combined APRA Music Award tally to 12.

The Rock Work of the Year award was won by Perth’s Birds of Tokyo (writers Ian Berney, Ian Kenny, Glenn Sarangapany, Adam Spark and Adam Weston) for Anchor from their Gold-certified EP of the same name. This was Birds of Tokyo’s third career APRA Music Award win.

Taking out Pop Work of the Year were Jarryd James and Joel Little for Jarryd’s triple-platinum selling Do You Remember. This was Jarryd’s first APRA Music Award nomination and followed the song’s ARIA Award win for Best Pop Release in 2015.

Notching up their eighth nomination and third win, Hilltop Hoods, writers Barry Francis, Matthew Lambert and Daniel Smith, (co-written with Demitris Christopoulos and John Kelman) took home the Urban Work of the Year award for Cosby Sweater, from the band’s seventh studio album, Walking Under Stars.

The Most Played Australian Work Overseas was Sia’s Chandelier, which takes the international superstar’s APRA Music Award tally to seven. As previously announced, the International Work of the Year was the Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars global smash hit Uptown Funk.

Archibald Prize-winning artist, Ben Quilty, presented the 2016 Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music to the legendary Cold Chisel (Jimmy Barnes, Ian Moss, Steve Prestwich, Phil Small and Don Walker).

Brian Nankervis hosted the 2016 APRA Music Awards which also featured guest presenters Styalz Fuego, Fiona Bevan, Catherine Britt, Trey Campbell, Suze DeMarchi, Tim Rogers, Maegan Cottone, Adalita and Don Walker.

The awards showcased special musical performances by Urthboy feat. Kira Puru and Bertie Blackman augmented with a choir performing Daughter of the Light from Urthboy’s new album, The Past Beats Inside Me Like a Second Heartbeat. The Delta Riggs took on Tame Impala’s Song of the Year winner Let It Happen and San Cisco put their stamp on Courtney Barnett’s Pedestrian at Best. Gang of Youths teamed up with Montaigne to perform Jarryd James’ Do You Remember. Previous APRA Music Award winners, D.I.G., who are celebrating the 25th year since they first performed together, wowed the crowd with their interpretation of Anchor by Birds of Tokyo featuring Ngaiire and newly discovered 13-year-old, Sydney-based singer/songwriter, Ruel. Guy Sebastian put his inimitable soul style on C.W. Stoneking’s The Zombie and The Living End ended the night performing Khe Sanh as a tribute to Cold Chisel.

Moshcam, in conjunction with digital roadies Hostworks, will give fans a front row seat at the 2016 APRA Music Awards. Highlights of this year’s ceremony and performances will be premiered on on Wednesday 6 April from 4.00pm AEST. Fans who Like the Moshcam Facebook page will be the first to know when the footage is available.

Hear a selection of the 2016 APRA Music Award winners in this Apple Music playlist.

Tag us on Twitter and Instagram – @APRAAMCOS
Hashtag – #APRAs