Scene News: Hoodoo Gurus release their latest single – “Answered Prayers” – as a VERY limited edition 7″

The Hoodoo Gurus release their latest single – “Answered Prayers” – as a VERY limited edition 7″ TODAY. Also out today – an expanded digital Deluxe Edition of their 2004 album Mach Schau, which combines the track listings from both the local and US editions in a new 16 track running order.    

“Answered Prayers”, was the first new music from the band in 10 years when released digitally some months back. It is the first recording to feature “new” drummer Nik Rieth, who joined in 2015, following time served with The Celibate Rifles, New Christs and Tumbleweed, as well as Radio Birdman, with whom he still plays.

The single’s B-side,  “Song of the Year” also appears on the digital Deluxe Edition of Mach Schau. Left off the original Australian release in 2004, it was one of a handful of tracks added to the US edition of the album at the expense of a couple from the local edition. The new digital release includes all tracks from both editions – plus a couple of tracks, “This Is Your Time” and “Keep It Alive”, that were B-sides on a CD single – in a new, improved running order. None of these extra tracks have ever been available for streaming anywhere in the world, and many were previously unreleased in Australia.

 Mach Schau was the first album the Hoodoo Gurus recorded after their five-year hiatus starting in 1998 and is one of their very best. Co-produced by another veteran of Perth’s feisty late-‘70s punk scene Kim Salmon, it features cracking tunes like “Sour Grapes”, “Girls On Top”, “Domino”, “When You Get to California” (with guest Vicki Peterson of The Bangles) and the great single “Nothing’s Changing My Life”.
Mach Schau Deluxe Edition track listing:
1. “Sour Grapes”
2. “Domino”
3. “Nothing’s Changing My Life”
4. “The Good Son”
5. “When You Get to California”
6. “This One’s for the Ladies”
7. “Girls on Top”
8. “Dead Sea”
9. “Monkey’s Wedding”
10. “#17”
11. “Isolation”
12. “White Night”
13. “Song of the Year”
14. “The Mighty Have Fallen”
15. “Chop”
       16. “Penelope’s Lullaby”          


And in other Gurus news….

The band have announced via Facebook the postponement of their Oct/Nov. U.S. tour due to COVID-19. On the upside of that, dates for the scheduled tour, to take place Sept/Oct 2021, are firming up fast.  So far confirmed are the following:

Mon 13: SOLANA BEACH, CA. – Belly Up
Tues 14: LOS ANGELES, CA. – Roxy Theater
Wed 15: SAN FRANCISCO, CA. – Great American Music Hall
Thurs. 16: ORTLAND, OR. – Aladdin Theater
Sat 18: SEATTLE, WA. – Tractor Tavern
Tues 21: MILWAUKEE, WI. – Shank Hall
Wed 22: CHICAGO – City Winery
Fri 24: ATLANTA, GA. – Center Stage Theater

And, perhaps more exciting for all the fans at home, the band has spent this week in the studio recording another new single! They promise a couple of heavy hitters, and if the image of Nik Rieth’s drum sticks posted on Facebook is anything to go by, that’s what they’ll deliver!
HOODOO GURUS’ “ANSWERED PRAYERS”/”SONG OF THE YEAR” Limited Edition 7″ vinyl release and MACH SCHAU DELUXE EDITION digital release are both out now.