Scene News: The Age Music Victoria Awards 10th Anniversary Hall of Fame Exhibition and Face the Music Panel

The Age Music Victoria 10th Anniversary

Hall of Fame Concert Announces Arts Centre exhibition and Face The Music panel AC/DC, Bill Armstrong AM, John Farnham AO, Olivia Newton-John AO OBE, Palais Theatre, Archie Roach AM, Stan Rofe, The Seekers, Sunbury Festival and The Thunderbirds to be celebrated at one-off concert event on 20 November 2015

The Age and Music Victoria are proud to announce that this year’s Hall of Fame inductees will be honoured with a free, public exhibition at Arts Centre Melbourne from 31 October 2015 to 28 March 2016 together with a dedicated panel discussion at the Face The Music conference on Friday, 13 November 2015.

The free exhibition features more than 50 items connected to the inductees including memorable costumes, rarely seen before photographs, posters, programmes and album covers. Highlights of the exhibition include one of Angus Young‘s early AC/DC schoolboy suits, Judith Durham’s stunning 1960s beaded performance gown, Kylie Minogue’s red sequined “Better The Devil You Know” costume worn at the Palais Theatre and original recording equipment from the legendary Armstrong Studios. 

The items on display are drawn from Arts Centre Melbourne’s extensive Performing Arts Collection and from the inductees themselves.

Face The Music have confirmed they will be hosting a free, public panel discussion being held onFriday, 13 November 2015 from 12.30pm to 1.15pm at the Arts Centre Melbourne, Theatres Building, St Kilda Road Foyer Gallery (Level 6)

The Panel will focus on The Age Music Victoria Awards Hall of Fame inductees, concert event and Exhibition and will be moderated by The Age’s Chris Johnston.  Panelists include Hall of Fame inductees Bill Armstrong, Archie Roach, Murray Robertson (The Thunderbirds) and Carolyn Laffan (Music Curator, Arts Centre Melbourne).

The Age and Music Victoria are also pleased to announce one further performer to The Age Music Victoria Awards 10th Anniversary Hall of Fame concert with Grinspoon’s Phil Jamieson now confirmed to appear on the night.

This special, once-in-a-lifetime concert being held at the Palais Theatre on 20 November already boasts performances by two of this year’s inductees – John Farnham (30 minute set) and Archie Roach – as well as Paul Kelly, Normie Rowe, Brian Cadd, Kate Ceberano, Mark Seymour, Vika Bull, Angie Hart and Kingswood.  The concert will be hosted by RocKwiz’ Brian Nankervis with musical backing by the EG Allstars featuring Pete Luscombe (musical director), James Black, Bill McDonald and Ash Naylor.

Patrick Donovan, CEO of Music Victoria, said today, “We like to celebrate the careers of each year’s inductees in various ways – in song, story, pictures, costumes, memorabilia and conversation. This is a great chance to check out the Performing Arts Centre’s great new exhibition and hear one of Victoria’s best journalists discuss the careers of Bill, Archie and The Thunderbirds.’’

First introduced in 2006, The Age Music Victoria Awards (formerly The Age EG Awards) are the largest publicly voted music awards in Australia. Unlike the annual Awards which will be announced on11 November, selection of The Age Music Victoria Awards 10th Anniversary Hall of Fameinductees was made by a voting panel including former inductees, musicians and music professionals, all of whom had their work cut out for them in selecting just ten inductees from Victoria’s long and illustrious musical heritage. Eligibility required inductees to have been Victorian residents when they made a significant contribution to Victoria culture.

$5.00 from every ticket sold will be donated to the events charity partner, Support Act Limited, to help musicians in need.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.