Q&A Scene: The Beards

Q&A with Nathaniel Beard

Tell us about your new single/ album/ tour?
Our upcoming Aussie tour is called “The Strokin’ My Beard Tour” and we’re touring our new single “Strokin’ My Beard.” Like all of our 52 other songs, this song is all about beards. It’s a very catchy piece of pro-beard musical propaganda about the dangers of stereotyping people with beards. I’d probably describe it as the feel-good song of the summer. It’s taken from our fourth album which is called “The Beard Album” – like our other three albums, “The Beard Album” contains nothing but songs about beards. We like beards.

How would you describe your sound in food form and why?
Our sound would probably be a Cheesymite Scroll because it’s Australian, it’s got a lot of layers, and it’s easy for bearded people to consume.

Which song resonates most strongly and why?
That’s a tough question. Probably the song “No Beard No Good” from our second album because it succinctly encapsulates how we feel about beards. But lots of our beard-related songs resonate quite strongly with me – notable examples include “If Your Dad Doesn’t Have a Beard You’ve Got Two Mums”, “Beards Don’t Kill People, People With Beards Kill People” and “There’s Just Nothing Better Than a Beard”.

Any on the road anecdotes?
Whenever we play we insist that there are no mirrors whatsoever backstage. On a recent European tour we were set to play a show in Norway and unfortunately someone must’ve not gotten the memo about the no-mirrors thing as there was this big mirror in our dressing room. Once we got a look in the mirror we were so captivated by our beards that there was no dragging us away from it. Our tour manager tried his best to pry us away from our reflections but we resisted and inadvertently broke his hand. The show had to be cancelled and eventually the venue needed to close for the night and the police had to be called to remove us from the premises. Needless to say those audience members who had beards were given a partial refund.

Where do you draw inspiration from?

Primarily from our beards.

What’s next for you?
“The Strokin’ My Beard Tour” will see us playing in every Australian state and territory – I believe we’re playing over 25 shows around the nation. After that we’ll be getting back over to Europe to make sure all of the people we convinced to grow beards last time we were there have kept their beards. By the time we’re done doing that, our beards will be longer than they’ve ever been before and we can begin Phase 2 of our master plan. I can’t say too much about Phase 2 at the moment but rest-assured it’s going to be extremely beard-related.

What’s your scene?
It’s beards.

About the Beards

2014 was a busy year for the world’s most relentless beard-themed band. They managed to record yet another album of songs about beards (The Beard Album); embark on their biggest Australian tour to date; receive a second ARIA nomination; and play to packed rooms throughout Europe on two separate international tours. Now, The Beards are back in their homeland and set to sternly reiterate their steadfast message on their upcoming “Strokin’ My Beard Tour”.

The Beards The Strokin’ My Beard Tour
With Special Guests The Stiffy’s (unless indicated*)
Tickets available from
www.thebeards.com.au/tour

Wed 18th March Karova Lounge, Ballarat
Thursday 19th March, Spirit Bar and Lounge, Traralgon
Friday 20th March, Barwon Club, Geelong
Saturday 21st March, The Hifi Bar, Melbourne
Thursday 26th March, The Royal Oak, Launceston
Friday 27th March, The Republic Bar, Hobart
Saturday 28th March, Governor Hindmarsh, Adelaide
Thursday 9th April Wollongong University, Wollongong
Friday 10th April, Railway Club, Darwin
Saturday 11th April, Railway Club Darwin
Wednesday 15th April, Bar On The Hill, Newcastle
Thursday 16th April, Entrance Leagues Club, Central Coast
Friday 17th April, The Metro, Sydney
Saturday 18th April, ANU Bar, Canberra
Thursday 30th April, The Spotted Cow, Toowoomba
Friday 1st May, The Triffid, Brisbane*
Saturday 2nd May, Urban Country Music Festival, Caboolture*
Sunday 3rd May, The Northern, Byron Bay
Thursday 7th May, Prince Of Wales, Bunbury
Friday 8th May, Settler’s Tavern, Margaret River
Saturday 9th May, Capitol Bar, Perth
Wednesday 13th May, Harvey Rd Tavern, Gladstone QLD
Thursday 14th May, The Lionleigh Hotel, Rockhampton, QLD
Friday 15th May, Dalrymple Tavern, Townsville, QLD
Sat 16th May, The Jack, Cairns, QLD
Sat 23-May, The Gapview Hotel, Alice Springs, NT*

About Mandy Hall 526 Articles
Mandy is a music photographer & writer. She runs Mandy Hall Media, which includes Social Media marketing, PR & Graphic Design for the music industry. She is also a web developer - she created and supports this website.

1 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Feature Scene: Australia’s new Hottest 100 – What's My Scene

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*